top of page

Rifle Painting

To paint or not to paint, that is the age old question on painting ones rifles. I never gave it much thought until last year when I dove into property patrols...


...and my black 😱 rifle stuck out like a proverbial sore thumb.


So I debated at great length with myself, do I or don't I paint it? I mean a rifle cost alot of money to just willy nilly paint, so I argued with myself...

-What if I don't like it?

-What if I can't match my surroundings?

-What if it just plain sucks and my mates laugh at me?

Or...

-What if it really works?


So I decided to pop my rattle can cherry and painted my AR...


...and now it blends in much better in its natural habitat.


Your rifle is a tool, right? So why not make that tool work as good for you as you can possibly make it.


So this leads me to the next rifle, my AK...


Classic rifle, right! Why would anyone even think of desecrating such a piece of history...


Well, once again, it's a tool. No different than a hammer, a shovel, or the previously mentioned AR. So, again, in the field it sticks out.


So, after the hesitancy that plagued painting the AR I questioned painting this. The question of "What if I screw it up?" repeated in my mind. But after some debating I went for it and...


...I hated it. What the f*** did I do. So I slept on it and decided to do a redo, and this is the great thing about painting rifles, just paint over the mistake. Like Bob Ross would say, "we'll just make them birds"... So I started over with a new color pallet and now we have a much more prefered pattern and color...


Is there a lesson in this? Sure there is. Don't be afraid to paint your rifle. Make it work for you! If you mess it up, just paint it again.

Comments


bottom of page